Conservatives to Congress: No Two-Year Caps Deal

Conservative Action Project — Friday, July 12, 2019

July 12, 2019
Washington, DC
Signatures updated 7/16/19

As Congress and the White House work together to reach a deal on spending before the end of the Fiscal Year, conservatives urge them not to pass a spending bill that would increase spending above the budget caps, and put important pro-life policies at risk.

A two-year deal that raises the spending caps will result in higher spending levels at a time when the Congressional Budget Office projects the share of the public debt to be nearly 80 percent of our Gross Domestic Product, with the budget deficit at record-breaking levels.

A spending deal cut with Democrats will also put long-time pro-life provisions at risk, such as the Hyde amendment, which blocks taxpayer funding of abortion. It will also provide an opportunity for Democrats to undo many of the Trump administration’s gains on the de-regulatory front.

Conservatives urge Republicans in Congress to avoid cutting an expensive and detrimental spending deal with Democrats that will spend more money, and very likely undermine key policies.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Tom McClusky
March for Life Action
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
Conservative Leadership PAC
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Member, South Carolina
United States Senate (2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Executive Director, Senate Steering Committee (2003-2012)
Rachel Bovard
Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee (2014-2015)
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
David Bozell
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Foley & Lardner LLP
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director
President Ronald Reagan, 1985-1988
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
The Honorable Donald Hodel
Secretary of Energy & Secretary of Interior
President Ronald Reagan
The Honorable Tim Huelskamp, Ph.D.
Former Congressman
Floyd Brown
America Fighting Back PAC
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
Jim Backlin
Vice President of Legislative Affairs
Christian Coalition of America
Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation
Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies (NFRA)
Jerry Melvin
Former Dean
Florida House of Representatives
David Williams
Taxpayers Protection Alliance
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Alexander Meluskey
Americans For Responsible Government
Ed Martin
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles
Terrence Scanlon
Retired President and Chairman
Capital Research Center
Seton Motley
Less Government
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
Mark Meckler
Convention of States Action
E.C. Sykes
General Partner
Aslan Ventures
Kathleen Patten
President & CEO
American Target Advertising
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
Allen J. Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
William H. Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Paul Gessing
Rio Grande Foundation
Christopher Malagisi
Executive Director of Outreach
Hillsdale College
Martha Boneta
Executive Vice President
Vote America First
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO
Donna Hearne
Constitutional Coalition
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Peter Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express
Ralph A. Rebandt II
Lead Pastor
Oakland Hills Community Church
Tim LeFever
Capitol Resource Institute
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
James L. Martin
Founder & Chairman
60 Plus Association
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Michael Horowitz
21st Century Initiatives
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
Benjamin R. Case.
Focused On Fundraising
Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
President Reagan’s Chief Defense and Space Negotiator and SDI Director
High Frontier
Tabitha Walter
Executive Director
Eagle Forum
Ralph Benko
Norman Singleton
Campaign for Liberty
Lewis K. Uhler
National Tax Limitation Committee
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.

The Conservative Action Project (CAP) was founded in 2008 by many conservative leaders, with former Attorney General Edwin Meese III serving as Founding Chairman. The group works to facilitate conservative leaders working together on behalf of common goals. CAP routinely issues "Memos to the Movement" demonstrating consensus among conservatives on key issues.