Conservatives Urge Expanded Access to HSAs in Forthcoming COVID-19 Legislation

Conservative Action Project — Wednesday, August 5, 2020

Washington, DC

Conservatives support efforts in Congress by Senators Ted Cruz and Ben Sasse, and Representatives Ted Budd and Chip Roy, to decouple health savings accounts (HSA) from high deductible health plans in forthcoming COVID-19 legislation.

Health savings accounts allow individuals to set aside money, pre-tax, for certain medical services. This gives Americans access to preventative and healthcare services they might not otherwise be able to afford. However, current law only allows individuals with a high deductible health plan to access the benefits and flexibility of an HSA.

Legislation offered by conservatives in Congress would lift this restriction during the length of the COVD-19 emergency, allowing all Americans with a health plan, including Medicare and Medicaid, to access HSA benefits.

This is particularly beneficial for Medicare patients, who are most vulnerable to the virus and also incur the largest portion of healthcare expenses in America. Allowing Medicare beneficiaries to offset some of their expenses with the help of an HSA would help the elderly remain financially solvent, and provide resources to take preventative health measures to protect themselves.

Essential and frontline workers who continue to serve the economy during the pandemic would likewise benefit from the ability to set aside a portion of their un-taxed earnings for health needs – and the necessary preventative care – that may arise.

This is a small change that, if implemented, would have an outsized impact in helping Americans prepare and manage the increased uncertainty around COVID-19. We urge Congress to include this modification in its upcoming COVID-19 relief legislation.

Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President, Republic Book Publishers
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Scott T. Parkinson
VP for Government Affairs
Club for Growth
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President, Conservative Partnership Institute
Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
L. Brent Bozell, III
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
Lisa Nelson
Chief Executive Officer
American Legislative Exchange Council
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Daniel Perrin
HSA Coalition
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Twila Brase, RN, PHN
President and Co-founder
Citizens’ Council for Health Freedom
Robert Alt
President & CEO
The Buckeye Institute
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director for President Reagan, 1985-1988
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC
Grover Glenn Norquist
Americans for Tax Reform
Bob Carlstrom
AMAC Action
Rod D. Martin
Founder & CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation
Christina Murphy Lusk
Campaign for the American Future
Guillermo J. Aragon
Chief Financial Officer
Martin Imaging, Inc.
Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Bishop E.W. Jackson
STAND Foundation, Inc.
William Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
Norman Singleton
Campaign for Liberty
Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
Martha Boneta
Vote America First
Khadine Ritter
Eagle Forum of Ohio
Robert Keith Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Sean Noble
American Encore
David E. Williams
Taxpayers Protection Alliance
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Kevin D. Freeman
NSIC Institute
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
Floyd Brown
The Western Journal
Kielle C. Horton
The Lindsey Foundation
Annette Thompson Meeks
Freedom Foundation of Minnesota
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Mike Davis
Former Chief Counsel for Nominations, Chairman Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
United States Committee on the Judiciary
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO
Allen J. Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Dr. Rick Scarborough
Recover America Now
Colleen Holcomb
Eagle Forum
Seton Motley
Less Government
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Donna Rice Hughes
Enough Is Enough
Charlie Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action
Charlie Gerow
Vice Chairman
American Conservative Union
Michael Horowitz
21st Century Initiatives
Steve Berger
Grace Chapel
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Trent England
Executive Director
Save Our States
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
Peggy Dau
Iran Alive Ministries
Dr. Virginia Armstrong
National Court Watch Chairman
Eagle Forum
Melissa Kaye Ortiz
Speaker/Blogger/Policy Formulator
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Dr. Allen Unruh
National Abstinence Clearinghouse
The Honorable Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Terrence Scanlon
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission 1985-89
Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
President Reagan’s Defense and Space Negotiator
Former SDI Director
Lori Roman
American Constitutional Rights Union Action
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Jay Mount
MDS Communications Corporation
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
Barry Meguiar
Ignite America
Tim LeFever
Capitol Resource Institute

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.

The Conservative Action Project (CAP) was founded in 2008 by many conservative leaders, with former Attorney General Edwin Meese III serving as Founding Chairman. The group works to facilitate conservative leaders working together on behalf of common goals. CAP routinely issues "Memos to the Movement" demonstrating consensus among conservatives on key issues.