Conservatives Oppose Trillion Dollar Spending Boondoggle

Conservative Action Project — Wednesday, July 24, 2019

July 24, 2019
Washington, D.C.
Signatures updated 7/25/19

After months of urging congressional and administration negotiators to prioritize reductions in spending, conservatives now oppose the recently announced irresponsible bipartisan budget deal.

The agreement eviscerates the remaining budget caps by more than $320 billion over the next two years. It does so without any spending offsets—despite the more than $1.1 trillion in cuts proposed by the White House. It also contains a two-year suspension of the debt limit, without any restriction on how much Congress can spend.

The national debt is at a record-breaking $22 trillion. A deal of this magnitude, without any real efforts at reducing discretionary spending or managing entitlements, is the height of fiscal mismanagement.

In numerous election cycles, voters have made it clear that they do not support these types of trillion-dollar boondoggles that put Washington priorities ahead of responsible problem solving.

The House Freedom Caucus, Republican Study Committee, and leading conservatives in the Senate have all come out in opposition of this deal. We urge others to follow their lead, and call on President Trump to veto it.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
Thomas Fitton
Coalitions for America
Adam Brandon
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
Rachel Bovard
Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee (2014-2015)
Matt Schlapp
American Conservative Union (ACU)
Daniel Schneider
Executive Director
American Conservative Union (ACU)
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
David Bozell
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute
Jessica Anderson
Vice President
Heritage Action for America
Tim Chapman
Executive Director
Heritage Action for America
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Scott Parkinson
Executive Director
Republican Study Committee (2016-2018)
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Foley & Lardner LLP
The Honorable Tim Huelskamp, Ph.D.
Member (KS-1)
U.S. House of Representatives, 2011-2017
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr
Managing Editor
David Williams
Taxpayers Protection Alliance
John F.Tate
America’s Liberty PAC
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi
Founder and CEO
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
Allen J Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Seton Motley
Less Government
Norman Singleton
Campaign for Liberty
Debbie Georgatos
Host, America Can We Talk
CWT Publications LLC
Richard D. Hayes
Hayes, Berry, White & Vanzant, LLP
Robert Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Nancy Schulze
Women Impacting America
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Rev. Gregory Quinlan
Center for Garden State Families
Peter Thomas
The Consrevative Caucus
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
The Honorable Mike Hill
State Representative
Florida State House
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
Ronald Reagan’s Chief Defense and Space Negotiator
Former SDI Director
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Adam Andrzejewski
American Transparency
Lewis K. Uhler
Founder and President
National Tax Limitation Committee

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.

The Conservative Action Project (CAP) was founded in 2008 by many conservative leaders, with former Attorney General Edwin Meese III serving as Founding Chairman. The group works to facilitate conservative leaders working together on behalf of common goals. CAP routinely issues "Memos to the Movement" demonstrating consensus among conservatives on key issues.